Board of Directors

Shelia Blaque is a native of South Los Angeles and 3rd generation Angelino. She is currently the Program Coordinator of Student Services for the Los Angeles Community Organizing Academy. Read More.

Denise Fairchild is the President of Emerald Cities Collaborative (ECC), a national non-profit organization based in Washington, D.C. with affiliates in major urban centers across the United States. Read More.

Hannah Ashley

Board Member

Hannah Ashley came up in community based literacy work.  She earned her Ph.D. from Temple University inInterdisciplinary Urban Education and has published in numerous collections and journals. Read More.

Angélica Esquivel

Board Member

Angélica Esquivel is the Program Coordinator of the Vasconcellos  for Democracy in Action (VIDA) at De Anza Community College, which houses the Leadership and Social Change Certificate that prepares students to be community leadersRead More.

Rosa M. García

Board Member

Co-Executive Director (CLP) / Executive Director (CYLC): Rosa M. García serves as Executive Director of California Youth Leadership Corps and Co-Executive Director of the Community Learning Partnership (CLP), where she collaborates with state agencies, two-year and four-year public institutions, social justice organizations, and other community partners to expand community change career pathways for marginalized students in California and across the nation. Read More.

Lena Jones

Board Member

Lena Jones is a political science faculty member at Minneapolis Community and Technical College (MCTC), where she has been teaching since 2002. Read More. 

Andy Mott

Board Member

Andy Mott is the founder and former Executive Director of the Community Learning Partnership.   Before founding CLP, Andy served as Executive Director of the Center for Community Change. Read More.

Brian Murphy

Board Member

Brian Murphy is the former president of De Anza College. Brian was instrumental in the development of The Democracy Commitment, a national project aimed at ensuring that every community college student has an education in democratic practice. Read More. 

Edmundo Norte

Board Member

Edmundo Norte is the Dean of Intercultural and International Studies at De Anza College.  Edmundo is also a national consultant on issues of diversity, equity, and transformative leadership. Read More.

Ken Rolling

Board Member

Ken Rolling brings over forty years of engagement in U.S. and international social justice work, community organizing, and public school reform to the Community Learning Partnership. Read More. 

Benjamin Torres

Board Member

Benjamin Torres is the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Community Development Technologies Center (CDTech), which addresses issues of community and economic development in low-income areas of Los Angeles. Read More.